( Colonel Dee's uniform, circa 1824 - photo courtesy of the Niagara Falls History Museum)
At the moment, the significant collection of the War of 1812 artefacts of the Niagara Falls History Museum are in temporary quarters. The Armoury on Victoria Avenue is serving as the temporary home for the museum while its headquarters in the historic 1834 building are undergoing $12 million makeover. The redesign is timed to coincide with the 200 year anniversary celebrations of the War of 1812, and the musuem will reopen with much fanfare in June 2012.
The new museum, when it opens, will be considerably expanded. The Museum’s collection includes significant War of 1812 artifacts, as well as historic prints of Niagara Falls. The Museum also has a world class collection of Niagara Falls Souvenir China and Postcards. As the interpreters of the City’s history, the Museum houses a variety of artifacts relating to all aspects of the founding and development of the City of Niagara Falls.
The museum remembers the bloodiest battle of the War of 1812, The Battle of Lundy's Lane, but also celebrates the 200 years of peace that have ensued between the US and Canada since then. Included in the several collections and properties is the historic Drummond graveyard, uniforms and artefacts from the 1812 battle, historic relics fromt he Underground Railroad, and antique toys from the period.
(antique toys, photo courtesy of the Niagara Falls History Museum)
Come and see the museum in its temporary quarters for insight into the history of the region and of Canada, and visit again when the newly reborn museum reopens. The displays are a perfect way to understand the history of the area, for adults and children alike.